Diary of a .NET Developer

May 22, 2013

Scheduled Web Intelligence reports with Prompts no longer work after upgrade to SAP BI 4.0

Filed under: BI, BOE, SAP — Tags: , , , , — ip3lee @ 9:55 pm

I’ve currently been busy working on an upgrade from an SAP BOE 3.0 environment to the new SAP BI 4.0 environment. There are a few lessons that I have learnt while undertaking an upgrade and one that I have come across is in relation to Web Intelligence reports with schedules. What I have found is that the schedule no longer works once upgraded.

Not sure why this is, but digging on the Internet didn’t come up with anything. So I thought I’d try and reset the schedule for the reports one by one and this is when I came up with the next problem, I couldn’t set the prompt, whenever I tried to access the prompt details, I was presented with an awful java.lang.NullPointerException and the properties window would close. Unfortunately the error message is too generic and googling doesn’t help. I thought maybe the Java version was out of date, but that was not the case. I was also running SP5 with Fix Pack 4 which was the latest update so it couldn’t have been a bug that wasn’t fixed. I tried another installation and environment and still no luck.

I was about to give up and call it quits on the upgrade, but not one to give up, I thought I’d try something out of hope, similar to the usual reboot the PC when it doesn’t work – I decided to see if I opened the report and re-saved it over itself, if this would fix the problem. Guess what, this actually fixed the issue with not being able to access the prompts. I was now able to set the prompt and schedule the report. Of course this is a pain to do, but since I only had a small number of reports, I wasn’t too fussed.

So if you are experiencing a similar sort of issue after an upgrade to SAP BI 4.0, give this a try and see how it goes. If you have lots of reports, might be worthwhile looking into using the SDK to do this.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.